BVI, Caribbeanand International News

National League champs Sugar Boys win 2022 Presidents Cup!

National League champs Sugar Boys win 2022 Presidents Cup!

The Sugar Boys FC completed a National League and Presidents Cup double when they beat Panthers FC 2-0 to lift the Presidents Cup at East End/Long Look on Sunday, June 26, 2022.

Both goals came in the second half as two evenly matched teams duked it out in front of a large crowd that surrounded the pitch, sat perched on neighbouring walls and covered any other vantage points along the roadside.

“I would like to thank the spectators for coming out tonight and supporting football. Soon we will have a stand here [at East End) for you all to sit in,” commented BVI Football Association President Mr Andrew D. Bickerton.

2nd half action!

The Sugar Boys opened the scoring within five minutes of the second half starting, as Oswart Holder found himself unmarked at the far post and headed home.

The second goal came from a free kick right on the edge of the box, which was taken quickly with the Panthers defence slow to get organised and curled around the wall by German Gonzalez.

“Congratulations to Sugar Boys for being Presidents Cup and National League Champions,” commented Competitions Committee Chair, Mr Andy Davis.

‘The season was a very exciting one, what would I encourage everyone to do for the upcoming season is to adopt a youth team if you don’t have one and also a women’s team. That is what I ask for next season and once again congrats to Sugar Boys.”

Game was won in midfield- BVIFA President

“I’d like to congratulate both teams on a really good game tonight,” stated Mr Bickerton.

“Panthers, you defended very well. Unfortunately you gave midfield to Sugar Boys who put you under a lot of pressure, but well played. Congratulations Sugar Boys, you played really good football tonight and dominated the midfield, when you dominate the midfield, it’s only a question of time as to when you can score.so congratulations, I always enjoy watching you. We should all take a lesson from the Sugar Boys because when they train, they play a lot of futsal and that means possession, control and movement and they show that when they are on the field. Other teams could learn from that, but I would encourage them to try find some young players from our youth teams to bring in and help them develop,” Bickerton added.


Along with the Presidents Cup, the Sugar Boys also were presented with their National League Championship Trophy, the U13 Youth Championship Trophy, German Gonzalez as National League MVP and their talisman, Derol Redhead, was named Player of the Season.

The BVIFA’s Executive Member, Ms Loralee Abrams also presented the end of season awards to Panthers FC as U13 runners up, U13 Best Goalkeeper Jevonne stevens (Sugar Boys), Best Midfield, Shamouri Leonard (Sugar Boys), Best Defender, Mario Carter (Panthers FC), Best Forward, Mitchel Williams (Panthers FC), Most Goals, Myles Penn (Panthers FC).

U18 award winners were presented by First Vice-President Mr Avanel Morton and included, league champions, VG Utd, runners up, Wolues FC, Best Goalkeeper, Jerique Samuels, (VG Utd), Best Defender, Michael Palladino (Wolues FC), Best Midfielder, Joel Mars (VG Utd), Best Forward, Adrian Padilla (One Caribbean FC), Most Goals, Sam Potgeiter (Wolues FC)

The women’s awards were presented by General Secretary, Ms Juliana Luke and went to the fourth placed team, the Panthers FC, third placed Wolues FC, runners up VG Utd and League Champions, Avengers FC. Best Goalkeeper, Britney Peters (Avengers FC), Best Defender, Ariel Mohammed (Wolues FC), Best Midfielder Kezia Gumbs (VG Utd), Best Youth Player, Chelsea Edwardes (Wolues FC), and MVP Lil-Makeda Fahie (Avengers FC). Manager of the year was Gloria Fahie (Avengers FC), and the Fair Play award went to Wolues FC.

In the National League, Trophies were presented by Mr Bickerton to Wolues FC for finishing fourth, Panthers FC as third and runners Up Panthers FC. The Golden Gloves Award went to Willis Buckley (Panthers FC), Golden Boot, Wayne Phillip (Panthers FC) Youth Player of the Season, Johari Lacey, Manager of the Year, Lenon Audain (Rebels FC) and Fair Play Award went to Old Madrid FC.

Match officials, Laura Pompey, Tashana and Referee of the Year, Carl Barrett were also presented with trophies.

Special awards went to Quehlani Nickie, Johari Lacey, Justin Smith Sheldon Toney, Levon Williams, Mekhi Walters, Jalen Prentice, Michael Palladino for their exploits on the field as well as Academic achievements off it.

German Gonzalez of Sugar Boys was named the MVP of the 2022 National League.

Sugar Boys’ Derol Redhead was named Player of the 2021/2022 Football Season.

National League Golden Boot winner, Wayne Phillip (right, of Panthers FC) collects his awards from BVIFA President Andrew D. Bickerton.


Related Articles