BVI, Caribbeanand International News

New champs emerge @ BVI Laser Masters & Back to School Regatta

Colin Rathbun toppled 2-time winner Christian Thompson in the Laser class when the BVI Laser Masters Championship and Back to School Regatta, organised by the Royal BVI Yacht Club, were held on September 11, 2021.

The BVI Laser Masters Championship was born in 2018 and since then only one name had appeared on the trophy. Christian Thompson sealed the deal in 2018 and 2019 whilst COVID put a stop to the 2020 edition.

Rathbun the new champ

On Saturday, Thompson set the marker down early to take the win in the first race ahead of 2021 BVI Dinghy Champs winner Colin Rathbun and Chris Haycraft. In race number two, Mike Hirst made his presence felt, taking the bullet with Thompson in second. In the remaining four races, Rathbun put the hammer down, took three out of four wins and with that the title by one point.

Haycraft sailed a consistent regatta despite waging a war against numerous tiller extensions and finished the day in third overall. New to VI sailing and shaking off the cobwebs was Nick Maris who sailed a solid day, posting his best result of a third in the final race and finishing fourth overall.

Easy sailing for Savion James!

In the Laser Radial Class, VI Youth Team sailor Savion James took a string of bullets through the day, competing in his first regatta in the class.

Marentia de Villiers, the only female Laser skipper, came in second behind James in the Radial, once again showing true grit and determination and always with a smile.

Harry Dixon the ‘Optimist’

In the Optimist class, Harry Dixon and William Sanders went head to head for the Back to School title. In the end, it was Dixon who came out the victor with two firsts and a second.

“Congratulations to both sailors who put in a good performance on a tricky day and are eager to keep working hard at their training with the BVI Youth Sailing Team,” the Royal BVI Yacht Club stated in a press release.

Allen & George win RSFeva class

In the RSFeva class, Samuel Allen and Ethan George shared the helming duties throughout the day and took first overall.

Mixing it up with the Lasers they are put in a great performance, demonstrating the skills learned during the Feva Team Racing training with the VI Youth Team.

Cate Armstrong skippered the second Feva, sailing with daughters Mia and Ellie in their first-ever VI regatta.

“Our results will be entered into the 2021 Bart's Bash and we look forward to seeing how the gang shape up against other sailors in the region in the Caribbean Sailing Association League.

“Thank you to the race committee team of volunteers, Ted, Scooby, Julia, Mandi, Meagan and Bash, as always without people giving up their time, donating their boats and supporting events, we would not be able to do what we do,” the RBVIYC stated.


1. Colin Rathbun , 7
2. Christian Thompson, 8
3. Chris Haycraft, 16
4. Nick Maris, 19
5. Mike Hirst, 24 (RTD)

Laser Radial
1. Savion James, 6
2. Marentia de Villiers, 10

1. Harry Dixon, 4
2. Wiliam Sanders, 5

1. Ethan George & Samuel Allen
2. Cate, Mia & Ellie Armstrong


Related Articles